Guthrie Award (page 2)


The Law Foundation of Ontario created the Guthrie Award in 1996 to honour H. Donald Guthrie who served as a Foundation trustee for 21 years, including 13 years as Chair. The Guthrie Award recognizes outstanding individuals for their contributions to access to justice.

A Guthrie Award recipient joins the legacy of the Guthrie Award and becomes a member of an esteemed group recognized for their achievements in improving access to justice. Past recipients have come from many directions – the judiciary, private bar, community legal clinics, and nonprofit organizations. They saw a chance to make a difference and took it.

Guthrie Award recipients have:

  • Built bridges between youth and the justice system
  • Advanced justice for Indigenous peoples
  • Strengthened the community clinic system to assist people with low-incomes
  • Launched the country’s first law-and-justice themed high school program
  • Helped to understand and address the consequences and causes of violence against women
  • Contributed to legal education in Ontario
  • Advocated for freedom of speech and expression
  • Modernized the running of law libraries
  • Provided hands-on poverty law experience to law students
Nomination process
Reception event
Guthrie Award Medal

Guthrie Award recipients

1997-2009 Guthrie Award recipients

January 1, 2009

The Law Foundation of Ontario is pleased to announce the following Guthrie Award recipients: Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic; A. Alan Borovoy; Martin Teplitsky; The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry; Jim Baillie; Balfour Halévy; Parkdale Community Legal Services; Peter N. Oliver.

Read more